A FitBit of Encouragement

15 Sep

Last year I was excited when I lost 30 pounds when I went a very restrictive diet. The problem with dieting like that is that you don’t learn how to really eat and exercise, so it comes as no surprise that I have gained all of that weight back. My diet is much better than it had been in the past, but I had gotten lazy. I haven’t been to the gym very much lately and found that I needed something to get me encourage me to get up and move. So I purchased the FitBit One.
At first I was apprehensive about purchasing what seemed like a $100 pedometer. But the website looked really user friendly and colorful. Plus I figured if I didn’t like if after a few days that I could just return it to the store. I was shocked at how little was included in the box, but I was able to set it up within a few minutes, even before visiting the website. Luckily the device came charged about ¼ of the way.

Within thirty minutes, I had created my account, downloaded the app on my Galaxy S3, set up my dashboard, learned what the dongle was, and tested out the sync. A few minutes later I was able to connect it to myFitnesspal.

What I love about the FitBit is that it tells me how many calories that I actually burn throughout the day, not just how many calories are burned by exercises. By syncing with myFitnessPal, I can log my meals to get an accurate count of calories in vs calories out. MyFitnessPal offers the ability to scan barcodes to add a food or meal.

I don’t care for the fact that you actually have to press a button before you go to sleep and when you wake up in order for the sleep to be tracked. But i do like the graphs that are created from the sleep tracker. Plus I’ve noticed a pattern of having restless sleep at 4 am almost every night. It also speed me that I’m not getting enough sleep.

Now that i have the FitBit I have found myself going up and down my stairs a few more times a day to hit my goal of ten. Walking around the office a little bit more to keep my step count up. Or even washing a little faster though the parking lot to keep my active minutes up. The sync with myFitnessPal is keeping me more accountable with the foods I eat, especially as I add more friends. So this was much more than an expensive pedometer, it was a bit of encouragement that I needed to get back on my fitness routine.

If you would like to add me on MyFitnessPal or FitBit, my user name is lhaliburton. Let’s get healthy together!

Leave a Reply

