I’m Clicking off ClickonDetroit.com

29 Jan

I consider myself a news junkie. I am constantly looking at different news sites and getting RSS feeds to my computer and phone for recent updates. I even still read the newspaper. I love the feel of paper in my hands, the ink turning my hands black and the detail they can put into print, that often doesn’t make it to TV or web.

However, one news site has been angering me for a very long time. I like to stay current on local news, so I often turn to the Detroit ABC, Fox and NBC affiliates. I also go to their websites for breaking news. But some of the comments that are placed on the NBC (www.ClickOnDetroit.com) website truly angers me.

Many people already know that Metro-Detroit is one of the most segregated areas in the country. But by reading the posts, I often see nothing but racism and hatred. Though these type of comments are often left on other sites, only ClickOnDetroit.com puts them right under the story. Most other news affiliates, print and television, makes you click on a link to see the comments, so they can easily be avoided, if you choose not read that type of stuff. Also their moderators seem to be better about controlling negative comments.

It is hard however to avoid the clickondetroit comments, as you have to scroll past them to get to links of other stories at the bottom of the page. I’ve seen blacks referred to as monkeys, maggots and any other derogatory thing they can say. They talk about how terrible the city is and how “it should just be burned down with the people in it.” (Actual quote!)

This comment has been posted over 16 hours already about two men that actually surrendered themselves to the police after being suspected of a crime.

Momma and “daddy suspect” #1 have convinced dey baby to turn hizself in, and now he’s in jail. It will be a negro homecoming turned family reunion when he meets “daddy suspects” #3, 4, and 5 in the prison yard.

A couple of months ago I sent an email to the web staff at clickondetroit. I heard nothing back. I let a few weeks go by and sent emails to every other person and reporter that I could on their site. Devin Scillian (one of their busiest reporters, and one of my favorites) was the only one that responded. He said that he also felt that many of the comments were offensive and that he would share my comments with higher level management.

Since then I haven’t heard anything back. But the more I looked at the site, I realized that most of the comments are made from some of the same people. I myself have reported many of their comments. And sometimes the comments are removed. What upsets me however, is that the website is not doing anything to prevent these posters. I figured that they may get blocked and perhaps create new profiles. But the most offensive offenders have over 3,000 comments. It seems as if they are never being blocked.

So now I am officially clicking of ClickOnDetroit. I believe that they are giving these racist people a forum for the public to see these terrible comments. The web staff is doing nothing to stop them and keeping them on the main page of the story for everyone to see. What is worse, is people see the ignorance that Metro-Detroit still has when we are linked to national news sites, or listed in Yahoo or Google news. Even other NBC affiliate sites don’t allow comments right on the story page.

Leave a Reply

